Skip To Main Content

Student Government

Class Officer Speeches

Student Body President Debate - May 16, 2022

If you have ideas to improve our GHS community, then run to be a leader of Student Government! Applications open today and are due on Wednesday, April 27; the campaigns and elections take place in May.

There are some changes to Student Government for the 2022-2023 school year. Please read the entire GHS Student Government Election Packet and, in particular, note the following:

  • Student Body President and Student Body Vice President. Any rising senior, junior, and sophomore can run in a school-wide election to lead the student body. Among candidates for Student Body President, the top vote-getter will be Student Body President, and the second highest vote-getter will be Student Body Vice President.
    • All candidates for Student Body President will participate in a public, moderated debate.
  • Class Officers. Any member of your class can run to be a Class Officer. Among candidates for Class President, the top vote-getter will be Class President, and the second highest vote-getter will be Class Vice President. There will be two Class Senators (formerly secretary and treasurer); among candidates for Class Senator, the top two vote-getters will be Class Senators.

Below is information about the application and campaign timeline. Please reach out with any questions.  We look forward to a great Student Government election!

  • April 7 at 8:00 am or 2:45 pm (Choose one to attend) - Room 123 
    OPTIONAL: Attend Informational Meeting. 
    Any interested candidates may meet with Ms. Foster and Mr. Silkman.
    Sign up for Optional Informational Meeting

  • April 27 by 3:15 pm
    Submit ExComm and Class Officer Application
    House Administrator and counselor submit Academic Standing Verification Form
    It is the responsibility of the candidate to ask them & make sure they have done this.
    The Google Form was sent directly to each House Administrator and counselors.

  • April 28 at 8:00 am or 2:45 pm
    Attend MANDATORY Candidate Meeting
    All candidates must meet with Ms. Foster, Mr. Silkman and class advisors.
    Sign up for Mandatory Candidate Meeting
  • April 29 at 8:00 am in room 123
    Attend Debate Logistics Meeting
    Student Body President candidates must meet with Ms. Foster and Mr. Silkman
  • May 2 - 5 - Design & make one Student Center banner
    Sign up to Design and Make a Banner
  • May 6 by 3:15 pm
    Submit draft speeches for approval and submit campaign materials for approval
    Student Body President candidates submit to Mr. Silkman (see email below)
    All other candidates submit to your class advisors (see emails below)

  • Beginning May 10 - Post approved campaign flyers
  • May 16 at 7:45 am - Student Body Debate Practice in meeting rooms 1 & 2
  • May 18 - Student Body President Debate
  • May 25 - Class Officer speeches during homeroom via grade-level Google Meets
  • May 25 at 3:15 - May 26 at 3:15 - Vote
  • May 27 at 8:15 - Attend candidate meeting to share results
  • May 27 at 8:30 - election results will be announced school wide.
  • May 31 - New ExComm members will attend a dinner meeting
  • June 1 - New ExComm attend a transition lunch meeting


Director of Student Activities -

Student Government Advisor -

Class of 2023 advisors -

Class of 2024 advisors -

Class of 2025 advisors -

Executive Committee: 

Student Body President 
Kwame Boateng

VP of Communications
Caroline Yu

VP of Community Service 
Callie Wulff

VP of Special Events 
Angelica Veronis

VP of Student Concerns
Sean Mirza 

Advisor: Daniel Silkman

Class Officers:


President: Javier Serra
Vice President: Luke Scanlan
Secretary: Olivia Baine
Treasurer - Ben Fertig

Advisors: Genta Gusho & Kathleen Mendez



President: Isabella Gega
Vice President: Elle Sykes
Secretary: Mitchell Goldstein
Treasurer: Brandon Yu

Advisors: Regina Miniutti & John Schlesinger


President: Ishi Hassett
Vice President: Sam Jaffe
Secretary: Naomi Park
Treasurer: Lucy Li

Advisors: Colleen Mayo & Sean Mayo



President: Mihir Shah
Vice President: Thomas McKinney
Secretary: Maeve Carey
Treasurer: Justin Bernstein

Advisors: Danielle Nash & Jenn Nielsen